Today: Last Update:


Uddhav Sena, Congress And Sharad Pawar-led NCP Formula: 21-17-10

Posted by Admin3

Uddhav Sena

Pune: JUST when it looked the Maha Vikas Aghadi will collpase over Sangli and Bhiwandi seats controversies, the leaders of the three constituents today put up a united front and announced a 21-17-10 formula for the Lok Sabha elections in Maharashtra.

The leaders of Shiv Sena (UBT), Congress and NCP (S-P) today held a joint press conference in Mumbai and announced the seat-sharing formula.

All the leaders looked happy and cheerful. Sena leader Sanjay Raut and MPCC chief Nana Patole, who had been having verbal duel, also put on a smile. In fact, when Mr Raut took Mr Patole's name twice, everyone including journalists laughed aloud.

As per the seat-sharing arrangement, the Sangli seat will be contested by Shiv Sena (UBT) which had already announced the name of wrestler Chandrahar Patil as its candidate. The Congress had announced the name of Vishal Patil, grandson of Vasantdada Patil. The Congress unit in Sangli is upset over Mr Patil being denied the Congress and MVA nomination. The Sangli unit will take a decision in a day or two. Mr Patil might file his nomination as rebel candidate. Similarly, Congress workers and leaders erupted in anger in Bhiwandi. The seat has gone to Sharad Pawar led NCP which has announced the name of Suresh Mhatre.


At the press conference, Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray, Congress chief Nana Patole and NCP (SPT) Sharad Pawar clearly spelt out that there was no rift or bitterness among them and they have jointly taken decision on seat allotments. They said their fight was against BJP and the Prime Minister and they would unitedly campaign for MVA candidates across Maharashtra. Senior Congress leader Prithviraj Chavan and State NCP chief Jayant Patil were also present at the press conference.

 The Shiv Sena (UBT) will contest following seats:

Jalgaon, Parbhani, Nashik, Palghar, Kalyan, Thane, Maval, Dharashiv, Ratnagiri, Buldhana, Hatkanangle, Sambhajinagar, Shirdi, Sangli, Hingoli, Yavatmal-Washim, Mumbai North-West, Mumbai South Central, Mumbai South and Mumbai East seats.

The Congress will field candidates in Nandurbar, Dhule, Akola, Amravati, Nagpur, Bhandara-Gondiya, Gadchiroli-Chimur, Chandrapur, Nanded, Jalna, Mumbai North Central, Pune, Latur, Solapur, Kolhapur, Ramtek and Mumbai North.

The Sharad Pawar-led NCP will contest Beed, Baramati, Shirur, Satara, Bhiwandi, Dindori, Madha, Raver and Wardha, Ahmednagar South.

Whatsapp Join